MTC Guide, Testimony, Strep Throat, Line drive to the arm…

Hey family, como vai? 🙂

 

Today is the official monthiversary of my time here at the MTC. 1 Month exactly! So crazy, feels like I havn’t been here that long. I was reminded of the day I came in here when I hosted on Wednesday, that was such a fun experience! I loved it! I was able to host 3 different elders, and luckily the drop off went smooth with the parents and all (no sobbing polynesians or whatever) and walked them through everything. One kid was obsessed with video game soundtracks and wanted to compose them here at the MTC and was wondering where a piano was so he could compose them. (?) Kinda wierd but a funny kid. Theyall looked so scared but like they were trying to cover it up. Definitely some “dear in the headlights looks.”. But I guess I probably looked like that my first day too. So much has happened this past month though, I feel like almost a new person!

 

On Sunday we watched a pre-taped talk by Elder Bednar called “Character of Christ”, and it was so stinkin’ good. It changed my life! If any of you havn’t seen it yet, I suggest you do. Because I love it. 🙂

 

I finished the Book of Mormon on Saturday, I started it the Saturday after I got here so I read it in a solid 3 weeks. Reading it fast was so awesome, my testimony has really been strengthened about the power of that book. When I had finished, I decided to do what Moroni had asked, because even though I remember doing it before, I can’t remember the last time I did or how serious I was with it. So a couple minutes after I finished it, I said a prayer asking for a strengthened testimony about the truthfullness of it. And as I did, this AWESOME feeling came over me. Like, I’d felt it before, but not as strong as I did this time! And It stayed with me for a solid 3 hours! It was so amazing. That’s the feeling I want the people I teach in Africa to feel. Because I know if they will feel that, they will know like I did that the book is true!

 Image

 

Sooooo my whole district here was pretty sick at the start of the week. I had a really bad sore throut and slept pretty bad for a couple nights, it wasn’t too fun but after a couple of difficult days I got over it. It was pretty funny though because on the 3rd day I think, my body had had enough and when we went to bed, I kind of shut down I guess. I remember sleeping really good, and when I woke up, my whole room was mad at me because I guess the congestion and stuff from being sick made me snore SO LOUD. They all thought I was staying awake and joking around with them because of how loud it was. I guess they tried waking me up and even shook me awake but I wouldn’t wake up! And then apparently at around two in the morning I started talking really loud in my sleep. They wrote down some of the stuff I said, pretty funny! I didn’t feel too bad though because I had slept so good 🙂

 

Shout out to my home-girl Morgan Tuckett for getting her mission call! San Jose California, Spanish Speaking! I’m so excited for her and I know she’ll do great. Plus we get home around two days apart from eachother, so thats pretty gnarly!

 

Before I get to the last thing, we all got our travel plans today! Which means visas came and everything. Super stoked about that! We leave the MTC a week from this sunday at 4:30 in the morning! We get on a shuttle, get to drive by LEHI and then catch a flight at 8:30 to Atlanta. I’ll be able to call my family as well, I’ll be sure to purchase a pre-paid phone card so I can do that 🙂 We have a 5 hour layover in Atlanta, and then get on a flight FROM ATLANTA GEORGIA TO JOHANNESBURG FREAKING SOUTH AFRICA! It’s gonna be suchhh a long flight. But it’ll be fun as well, there are 15 guys in our travel group and 5 from my district including my companion. The five from the group, myself included are like the guys I’ve got closest with so its pretty lucky that it all happened like that!

 

I had a pretty sweet adventure yesterday. To start things off, my district had challenged another district to a game of softball. So yeah, logically we were taking it pretty serious. We had played softball before, and apparently I’m a really good softball pitcher (according to an elder in our district who played college baseball), so I was pitching. It was about halfway through the first inning, I pitched to this really hefty elder in the other district, who hit it at about 12.48 trillion miles per hour STRAIGHT AT MY ARM. I dropped to the ground, It hurt so bad and didn’t feel right. Everyone gathered around, and took me to the trainer. They did some tests, and decided that I needed to go and get it X-rayed because they thought it might be broken! So me and my companion went with the trainer, picked up my wallet and insurence card and stuff (while my arm was in a sling) and then we hopped on a shuttle that took us (me and my companion) to the REAL WORLD. He dropped us off at some medical place, and said to call him when we were done! It took forever because it was kind of busy and stuff, plus my arm was hurting pretty bad. We finally went in to get it X-rayed at like 9, and it was pretty cool what the docter said after looking at them. They looked pretty gnarly, because one of the bones in my arm was BENT. Like, legitimately bent. The docter said he had never seen a bone bend that much. There were luckily no fractures or anything, and he said that it should have been broken but for whatever reason, didn’t. I thought that was awesome, until he told me that if it had been broken, I probably wouldn’t be able to go to Africa!! It was then that I realized how big of a blessing I had recieved. Super cool experience for me. He also said though, that since I had been sick, and my tounsels were swollen, That the infection I had could spread to the arm, which wouldn’t be fun AT ALL. So he prescribed me an antibiotic and also some pain meds, and said we should come back tomorrow to pick up the xrays and then clear everything with the doctor.

 

 Image

 

We didn’t get out until about 9:30, and went with the shuttle driver to walgreens to pick up my meds! It was crazy! Plus the driver said we could buy “certain drinks” that were not served, for whatever reason, at the MTC. So that was pretty awesome, If any of you know me you probably know what I’m talking about! We got back at about 10:30 to the MTC, wayyy past curfew, And the front desk told us to go to the medical clinic as soon as it openedtomorrow. So today I went in, and met with a doctor for a while. He told me that I could have had strep, which if it spread to my arm like Ibuprofen can sometimes help with, it wouldn’t be good. He was also concerned with the way my arm was bent. So, I hate to leave you guys with a cliff hanger, but He said that they were going to have a radiologist come in and look at them, so I should come back at 1! But he told me that theres a decent chance I won’t be able to go to Africa right away if it needs to be followed up on at all. 😦 😦 😦 So I’ll find out whats up at 1 today, and I’ll save myself some email time so I can update you guys after it happens. Could end up getting reassigned, but keeping my fingers crossed! I feel like it’ll be ok. It’s only a flesh wound. 😉

 

Well, thats about it. Language is coming along great. Laundry was a little hard this morning with one arm, (Doc said to keep it in a sling for a weekish) but my district helped me out. I’m loving it here, and a little nervous to leave but excited for what comes ahead. I love all you guys so much, and want to thank you for all your support. Sorry if I don’t write you back. It gets pretty busy around here!

 

Love you all. Like love songs. Wish me luck with the Radiologist!

 

-Elder Poyfair

 

 

[Four Hours Later]

 

update: radiologist said that the bendiness was a result of something that happened to me when I was like 5, and it healed that way, although I can’t think of what it would be. Oh well. 🙂 I need to wear the sling until monday morning, and go talk with the doc again wednesday or thursday and we’ll proceed from there. Still could get infected, etc. Thanks for that story, I feel like I’ll be fine! Love you guys!

 

-Elder Poyfair
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

