Week 2 in Africa: Culture Shock?

Jisheelee from T3! (Good morning in Changana, the dialect here). 🙂

I feel bad about last week, it was pretty crazy! Didn´t have a lot of time at all and had some picture trouble, but hopefully this week will be better 🙂
Image

I’m not going to lie, this week was one of the hardest ones of my life! Especially towards the beginning of the week. I did a lot of struggling 🙂 I think it’s just my body’s natural reaction to all the change that happened, ya know? Like, new country, new food, I can’t understand anyone, I got really close to some friends in the MTC and then theyre gone and its all new people. It just…. was alot for me to handle. Its pretty hard getting used to the realities of mission life. Which I freaking hated because I generally thought I was good at adjusting to things! But I would wake up with THE WORST feelings. Just, super anxious, depressed, blech. 🙂 Hated it. Because I didn’t want to feel like that!

DSC00601But slowly, as we were teaching lessons and stuff, and just spending more time in the area, I started to figure it out. That for everyone here, this is their life! I’m in some of these “houses” (used very loosely) that we teach in, and I just realize that most of these people here have it WAY worse than me. And that won’t change for them in two years. And here I am, having a pity party for myself because I don’t have a mommy to cook for me! And all these people here, who have nothing, are so happy. And I realized if they can be happy, I can be happy. And the night I realized this, there was THE MOST AMAZING SUNSET I HAVE EVER SEEN. It lit up the sky like crazy, all these cool colors and stuff, it was so so so awesome. And I’ve always kinda had this thing for sunsets, and I just felt the spirit kinda let me know that this was for me, and that God still loved me and hadn’t forgot about me. I know it sounds dumb but it was legit to me 🙂

So yeah. Since then, It’s got a lot better. Thanks for your prayers, I’ve definitely been feeling them! I’m starting to get in to the groove of things, I promise I’m doing good 🙂 Don’t worry about me. I’m learning loads, and I know I’m supposed to be here!

Here are some more random tidbits/facts of life here!

I forgot to mention last time that we don’t have a working shower, so we have the privelege of taking ICE COLD bucket showers! I’m pretty much a champ at them now 🙂

One of the biggest challanges has been cooking for myself! I don’t know why that really came as a surprise to me, that I’d have to do that! I don’t know if its because I’ve been super blessed with a great mom my whole life who always cooked, or because we had all you can eat food at the MTC or what. But yeah. Earlier this week, my menu was cereal for breakfast, peanut butter sandwhich for lunch, ramen for dinner. Every day. But The last couple of days I ventured out a bit, making some curry, chicken, and last night I made some pretty legit spaghetti. So if you have any SUPER SIMPLE recipes that can be made from ingredients you could find in Mozambique (aka almost nothing), send them to me please 🙂

We had a service project Saturday, With all the missionaries around Maputo! So I got to see elder olsen and all my other buddies! Somehow, we all ended up near maputo. kind of a blessing, we all talked and figured this week has been pretty rough for everyone! So it was nice to find out it wasn’t just me.

DSC00602

Portuguese is still a struggle, but there are 6 elders in our house and 3 of them are native and don’t speak any english, so my abilities are growing like crazy!

Sidenote, the people here love Obama, and his name is spray painted on alot of walls and stuff. Whenever you say youre from the states, people get all excited and ask if you know him. We even met a little kid named Obama! Funny stuff.

We taught some awesome lessons this week! We’ve got one family that is working on the marriage process, theyve got a date set for sometime in september, and 4 other families who have accepted baptism. Its pretty hard here tough with the whole marriage thing. Its confusing, breaks tradition, and no one really wants to do it! So thats been kind of a challange, lost some investigators through it.

It’s a lot of walking around and doing street contacts. I love it, and Its so beautiful here.

We had church yesterday, and I loved it! It was so cool. It was also really comforting because really, its not much different then it is in the states. Way cool.

Anyways, thats about it. I missed you guys ALOT this week. Thinking about you hard core. 🙂 Some logistical things, being close to The office, I can get the “pouch mail” or whaatever youre sending. I just got one handed to me from an office elder from mom, So I’ll open it after.

Love you all. Fica Firme. 🙂
Elder Poyfair
DSC00595
Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Week 2 in Africa: Culture Shock?

  1. Lance Timmerman

    Do you have decent tools? I know a nice crepe recipe….. I loved a can of lentils/gravy/sausage over rice with a dollap of creme fraische (like sour cream). Filling and lasted for hours (hunger took a long time to come back).

  2. If you have the tools, access to ingredients (and crazy desire)

    OLD FASHIONED CINNAMON BREAD

    Ingredients:

    2 cups flour
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 teaspoon baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 cup butter (room temperature)
    1 cup white sugar
    2 large eggs
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
    1 cup buttermilk
    1 cup brown sugar
    2 heaping tablespoons ground cinnamon

    Directions:

    1. Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
    2. Cream the butter and sugar in another bowl.
    3. Beat in the eggs, salt, vanilla and lemon zest.
    4. Mix 1/3 of the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
    5. Mix 1/2 of the buttermilk into the wet ingredients.
    6. Mix 1/3 of the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
    7. Mix the remaining buttermilk into the wet ingredients.
    8. Mix 1/3 the remaining dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. This is your batter.
    9. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon in a bowl. This is your cinnamon mixture.
    10. Pour 1/3 of the batter into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan.
    11. Pour 1/3 of the cinnamon mixture on top.
    12. Pour 1/3 of the batter on top.
    13. Pour 1/3 of the cinnamon mixture on top.
    14. Pour the remaining batter on top.
    15. Pour the remaining cinnamon mixture on top.
    16. Bake in a preheated 350 degrees F oven until a toothpick pushed into the center comes out clean, about an hour.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

