What week am I on? Oh well, week of 10-14-13 :)

Dearest family and friends-

This week was kind of a rough one. Lots of our investigators are having problems! With the marriage process, coming to church, getting testimonies, etc. We’ve had to drop a lot of people, and work even harder at finding new ones! We have also been having some difficulties working with the branch leadership here. But its fine, we’ll manage 🙂

This week was freaking HOT. One day, it went above 41 celcius. Granted, I don’t know exactly what that is in farenheit, but I know its DANG hot. I sweat alot. Its pretty gross. 🙂 Its late spring, getting ready to be the hot season. So I cant say Im exactly looking forward to that, if its going to be hotter then it is right now!

DSC01033 (1)We’ve kind of been having a problem in our district with the effectiveness of District Meetings. Most of the missionaries just come in, and doze off while our district leader, my comp gives a lesson, and then we leave with nothing changing. So this week in preparation, he asked me what I thought we could change. And I suggested that we base district meeting off of the way my family does family home evening! So we did. We assigned each missionary things like treat, activity, songs, scripture, prayer, and conducting. The only difference is, the district leader will always do the lesson. So we tried it out, and it went great! Everyone had fun, it was shorter then normal, and in the end our district had the best week stat-wise its had in two transfers! So that was kind of a cool little fun thing.

I finished Jesus the Christ this week, by James E Talmage. For those of you who don’t know about it, it is a freaking huge (800+) page book about our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Can I just say, it was one of the best books I have read! My testimony and knowlege of him was strengthened SO much. I would 100% reccomend it to anyone looking for a good book to read. I learned so many new things! It will literally blow your mind.

I went on a division with Elder Fransisco this week. He is a native from Mozambique, (Beira) and he is really short and really funny. He is learning to speak english, but its really funny when he does because he says funny things and has a pretty thick accent. And here in T3, we have a lot of girls who would like to date the missionaries. They wear…immodest clothing, and just arent the best girls. So we call them “snakes”, as in, they are venomous and you shouldnt talk to them! So on our division, every time we would walk by one, Elder fransisco would say, SNAKES and I would laugh. It was pretty funny. He reminds me of stitch on lilo and stitch. I love him!

I have an addiction. To TEA!!! But before you freak out. Im addicted to Mozambiquan tea. Which, is actually just brown sugar and water. They drink it every morning with bread. So I have kind of started doing the same. Ill give you all a quick recipe for mozambiquan tea, in case you want to make it at home. So. You fill up a cup with water. Then you put it in the microwave until it gets hot. Then you take it out and but two or three or six spoonfulls of brown sugar in it. DONE! Its pretty funny. We all drink it out here!

The week wasnt all bad investigator wise, we had another really cool experience this week with Antonio and Ineis. We were teaching them about tithing, and then at the end of the lesson, we asked them if they would commit to live the law of tithing. And he said, “We already pay it!” And me and my comp just kind of looked at eachother, and said, “WHAT?” He said that on his first or second week at church, someone told him to pay tithing and he would get blessings. So since that day, he had been paying tithing every week! We hadnt taught him it or anything, and he didnt even have to pay tithing until he gets baptized. And he was already paying it. THEN, he said he knows it brings blessings, and related to us this cool story about some of the blessings he had recieved. He already had a testimony of it!! Freaking way  cool. I cant wait for their marriage and baptism this week!!

The last thing, last night I wanted to make pancakes. So I asked the elders if anyone had a recipe and some one did. But they were for banana pancakes! So last night I made banana pancakes, and sang the Jack Johnson song THE ENTIRE TIME I MADE THEM. OVER AND OVER AGAIN. I thought it was pretty awesome but It probably got annoying. Oh well. 🙂
So that pretty much sums up my week. It was hard, but Its good. 🙂
I just found out that my dad lost his job, so If any of you who are reading this want to switch your prayers from praying for me to praying for him, that would be greatly appreciated. 🙂 I know he will get another job quick though, I firmly beleive that God takes care of the families of missionaries. Im just glad I can help by being out here. 🙂
Thanks for everything, I love you guys alot! Im loving life out here, having fun and preaching the gospel. I love missionary work. I love the people here. I love the sunsets and scenery. I love the gospel. I love my savior. 🙂
-Elder Poyfair
Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What week am I on? Oh well, week of 10-14-13 :)

  1. Jennifer Allred

    We love you too! We’re about to adopt another baby in February (fingers crossed)! We’ll pray for you and you pray for us too!

    The Allreds

  2. Judy Petersen

    What a compliment to your parents, that you found a model for better district meetings from your own home and family life. They taught you right!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

