Week 14: Bike Taxis? Bring it on!

Good Morning. 🙂

I’d just like to start of this email by saying that I LOVE QUELIMANE. It is seriously the COOLEST place. I would be totally fine spending the rest of my mission here. This week has been a crazy one though, so I might as well get into it. 🙂
Found out I was leaving on Monday, so me and Elder Proksch went back to T3 and said goodbye to all of our investigators and recent converts and such. It was actually really sad! Most of them took it well though, said they would miss us and were greatful for our work and they can’t wait to work with the new missionaries. Antonio said something really cool though. He said that he understood we had to leave, but wanted to let us know that he beleives we were both sent to Mozambique just to find him and bring him happiness in his life. So that was cool. 🙂 We came home and packed, and then I woke up decently early and hopped on a taxi for the Airport!
The flight went well, I slept for an hour and a half, and then we started descending and I looked out the window, and saw the Coolest looking city on the banks of a river, surrounded by African plains. And I was like, “Bring it on.” 🙂
Landed, got off, got my luggage, and walked out to meet my new companion. Like I said, his name is Elder Heaton, he is from American Fork, has about 5 months left on his mission, and he is way cool. 🙂 I like him alot. An investigator of his drove us home. And by home, I mean to the church! We live at the church here. They used to have another house, but it got robbed so they moved to the church 2 weeks before.
quelimane DSC01455 (1)
At this point, everything kind of runs together so since I am short on time, I’ll just talk about a couple of things that happened.
First, We baptized a family on Saturday. I use the term “we” pretty loosely since I had been there for a total of 4 days. But it was cool, went to teach them the first night I got there and they were finalizing plans for the baptism, and asked who they would like to baptize them, and the wife picked me. Her name is Aida, she is super funny and has alot of personality. So she and her husband were married and baptized, along with her younger brother who lives with them. It went well, a little hectic trying to make it all happen when our water ran out, so we baptized them in a font that was half full, and the husband is like 6’5 so he had to sit down to be baptized so that was pretty funny. 🙂
DallinDSC01457
The branch here is FANTASTIC. Its pretty new, Elder Heaton said the church has only been in Quelimane for like a year and a half. There arent alot of members, our attendance here was 61 yesterday. But the members here LOVE the missionaries. They take care of us, everyone was super excited to meet me, the Branch President is AWESOME, the members bring friends to church and stuff, it is really really cool.
quelimane DSC01461 (1)
The house is HUGE too. And beautiful. Did I already say that? 🙂 We used to have a car and bikes but the bikes got stolen and the car got taken away because of the war thats going on.
quelimane DSC01447 (1)
The way of transportation here is BIKE TAXIS. Its literally a little padded seat on the end of a bike. And 5 met will get you ANYWHERE in the city. Its awesome. The city is alot cleaner because everyone takes them, you arent crowded in chappas, and its just fun to enjoy the scenery and stuff. I definitely like the bike taxis.
quel bike DSC01399 (1)
This week, we werent able to get a whole ton of work done. My companion is the 2nd counselor in the branch presidency here, so he is REALLY busy with meetings and taking care of stuff for the branch. President was out of town for most of the week. Also, the 2nd counselor of the mission visited on Friday, and pretty much had to be taken care of until he left last night. He did take us to dinner on saturday night though, to a super nice restaurant. I ordered a hamburger, HEAVEN. Anyways. 🙂
quelimane DSC01424 (1)
It really is beautiful here. Its weird having THE WHOLE CITY to yourself, just you and your companion. There are SO many people here but also a ton of muslims.
Thats about it, I am loving life. I’m sure everyone probably knows, I got dear johned last week, not even a big deal. We were really good friends, and I hope her life turns out great. 🙂 I only cried myself to sleep for the first 3 nights. 😉 just kidding. I am so focused on my mission that it wasn’t even a big deal. Not even a speed bump.
But yeah. 🙂 I love it here. Alot. 🙂 It really is one of the coolest areas, one that every missionary wants to go to. I hope I get to stay here for a long time, there is definitely work to be done.
Anyways, I love you guys all alot.  Thanks for everything!
Elder Poyfair
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

