Week 22: Survived elections, No water

Happy Monday to all my friends and family. Let me just say that mondays are a lot better on the mission than when you are at home and have to go back to school or work. 🙂

DSC01572

Found this old jazz jersey, almost bought it!

Tomorrow is my 5 month mark, crazy!! Time keeps going faster and faster. Before I went on the mission, everyone said it went super fast. Once I got to the MTC I kind of started to doubt that. Then once I got in to the country I thought they were all filthy liars. 🙂 But now I can honestly say I believe them, I still feel like I just got here. And yeah, I still have forever to go but it’ll fly by! Also, I’ve said this before, but in these letters home, I talk a lot about more of the day to day fun stuff, to let you guys know what its like here. I just want to make sure everyone knows we do a lot of missionary work, I just don’t think it’s that interesting to bore you all with the details of how many lessons we taught and stuff like that. 🙂

DSC01533

This week was probably one of the most eventful weeks I’ve had so far on my mission. But let me just start off by letting you know that we have been without water since last Saturday. We had to fill up the baptismal font, which used up all of our water we had. (How it works here is there is a company that pumps water at a certain time everyday, but after that time you have to wait for the next day.) So we used a ton of water to fill up the font (aka mini swimming pool) and didn’t have water. Then for whatever reason, we didn’t get any more water. There was a big problem with the company, some pipe burst or something underneath the city so the whole city has been without water too! It’s been pretty crazy, I have taken one and a half showers this week. Awesome. 🙂 Anyways. I’ll get to more on the water later!

DSC01576

Yes, those are bats. Kinda awesome. Theyre everywhere out here!

Monday was our weird, non P-day. We did internet, bought a months supply of food (beans and rice and chips and milk haha), went home, and went back out to work. We went to an apartment building and were talking about how apartment contacts don’t really work, and then the first door we knocked this nice shirtless guy let us in and we taught the restoration and he accepted baptism and stuff. It was kind of funny because we kind of thought apartment contacts were lame, but they actually work pretty good here! Later that night we had a family home evening at a members house. It was SUPER funny. We sang some songs, my companion gave a nice lesson, and then we played memory. You know, that old game where you put the cards upside down and then pick two and try to get matches? Well. Bless their hearts, memory is not exactly these people’s strongest attribute. And I have always had a pretty good memory. So it was pretty funny, I DESTROYED in the game and they all thought I was the best ever to play the game and stuff. It was pretty funny, made some of the members like me. Then we ate some food she had made which was amazing. The best home made food I’ve had out here so far! And it was awesome because here you just eat everything with your hands. Everything. Then they were trying to find the soda and one of the old members there, a really funny old lady, was like, “ok, so where is the box of beer?” And we all busted up laughing and she realized what she said and got embarrassed and said, “Oh sorry, soda! Haha bad habit!” It was stinking funny.

DSC01545

Bike rides through the jungle. My favorite!

The next day was kind of lame, that family we had met last week, Nhaac (Jose) told us when we visited on tuesday they were moving out of the district. So that kind of sucked! Then we had to cancel some lessons later that night because we had a presidency meeting that went long because we were talking about the stupid contract. I swear, sometimes I feel like I’ve been more of a contract lawyer than a missionary the past few weeks! It is super frustrating. Because Elder Heaton and I were talking about it, its Satan’s way of destroying the work in this area. We are spending so much time dealing with the contract and the old house and the dishonest people who are mad at us and stuff that we really haven’t had too much time to focus on the work, and It’s keeping us from really finding and progressing investigators. But It’s fine. We have a good attitude about it, we pray for help and patience and just keep working to make things better. 🙂 That night though, we were sleeping and then both woke up suddenly to the sound of breaking glass. We got up, grabbed our knives and flashlights, and walked around the house, looking for whatever had made the noise. People get robbed ALOT here. So we went to the window and started talking to our guard, he said some guy was throwing bottles at our house. So we asked him to tell him to stop and he did. Seriously, people get a little bit weird around election time…

DSC01554

The next day, was bliss. 🙂 Pure, sweet, amazing, relaxing bliss. 🙂 Ahhhh I’m getting super happy just remembering it. It was election day. And we were all as missionaries forbidden to leave the house because of the instability and stuff that happens. We were told by the APs to relax, take the freeday, recharge, and be ready to go the next day. So, we did. 🙂 We slept in til about 9 (HAAAAAAAALELULIA) and woke up, played risk and scrabble and chess and checkers and called other elders and talked and made food (without water though, was kind of hard. We had just bought a lot of drinking water.) and read scriptures and just CHILLED. It was nice. We got an occasional rock thrown at our house but they never hit any windows or anything so that was nice. Elections are pretty weird! Things went pretty calm here, compared to other places. The guy who won ran with a campaign slogan of “I love Quelimane, and you?”  I thought it was pretty genius. If only american politicians were as creative and catchy with their campaigns… but yeah. Things went relatively well, three people got shot pretty close to our house that night after the results were announced and some other people got hurt but other than that it went well. Grrrrrrreat day. 🙂

DSC01531

By the next day, things were pretty bad with the water. Our reserves were about out, we both had some pretty gnarly beardage going on, hadn’t showered in a long time, just gross. And we were wondering what to do and then we realized we still had all the water from the baptismal font! So we pumped it into our tank, did a load of laundry (We shoved SOOOO SOOO much into the machine) and took showers, washed tons of rotting dishes and stuff, and then filled up our reserves. And then it ran out again. 🙂 We taught some family with 5 kids who lived clear out in the middle of nowhere, the bike ride there was beautiful! I’ll send a picture or two. That day we also had to meet with the owners of the other house, (cough cough evil), they gave us a court summons letting us know that they were taking us to court for not giving them the keys to the house, even though they owed the church about 2000 american dollars! So yeah. We went over with our branch president and other members, talked with the mission office down in maputo, they told us that us as elders didn’t have to worry about it any more, they put our president in charge so we could work on missionary work. Which was a relief!

Then Saturday, was one of the hardest days of my mission! We had a ton of lessons marked and were pretty optimistic, but EVERY SINGLE ONE ENDED UP FALLING THROUGH. Lots of people we thought were doing good told us they didnt want to meet with us any more, a lot didn’t answer their phones and stuff, it was pretty lame! And At about ten I started getting THE WORST headache. Which made everything worse. As time went on I got more and more sick, to the point where I honestly felt like I was going to have to go to the hospital or something. Like, terrible terrible pain throughout my entire body, zero strength, couldn’t focus on anything, it was bad. I thought it was malaria. We got home and I like passed out on the bed. That day Sucked. 🙂

But. I woke up on sunday feeling tons better. Which was nice. 🙂 Church was pretty funny, I get to pick the hymns, right? But the members here really don’t know many hymns. So I try to pick ones they should know, to teach them. Which ends up with me and Elder Heaton singing really loud and me playing loud and every one else just kind of saying the words from the hymn books. Its awesome, I freaking love it 🙂 Then for sundayschool, Elder Heaton was giving a training and the sunday school teacher wanted to go to that, so he asked me if I could teach gospel principles. I accepted, but it didn’t exactly go too well. The topic was signs of the second coming of Christ. Which is pretty hard to explain in English, let alone portuguese. 🙂 Plus, everyone there isnt a member so they all have their own ideas and as the teacher I have to put forth who’s views are in line with doctrine and whos arent and stuff, its a really hard lesson to teach simply. Then we got kind of into a little fight about what would happen during the millennium and stuff. It was pretty funny. In the end I think it turned out good but man did I struggle. Then we had to meet for the last time about the contract, we gave them the keys and we are just happy to be done once and for all with it. We went out to work and taught a lesson that went GREAT, but at the end we found out that they were moving across the country in a week. It was a little depressing. 🙂

So yeah. 🙂 That is my week in a nut shell. We still don’t have water, if we don’t get it today or tomorrow I have no Idea what we are going to do… We used some of our reserves to make a ton of rice, so that will last us another day or two but yeah. 🙂 Its just a day in the life. I really honestly love it though. It is the PERFECT mission for me. I couldn’t see myself anywhere else right now. I’m so grateful for all the experiences I’m having. It definitely keeps things interesting. I for sure am in love with Quelimane. I can’t wait to see what else happens here.

I love all of you, and hope you guys have a good thanksgiving. I’ll be honest, I kind of forgot that was this week. Its not celebrated here. Who knows, maybe we will buy a chicken and pretend its turkey. 🙂

Thanks for everything, Love Elder Poyfair

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Week 22: Survived elections, No water

  1. Would you add your bat photo as a citizen-science observation to the AfriBats project on iNaturalist?:
    http://www.inaturalist.org/projects/afribats

    AfriBats will use your observations to better understand bat distributions and help protect bats in Africa.

    Please locate your picture on the map as precisely as possible to maximise the scientific value of your records.

    Many thanks!

    PS: these are straw-coloured fruit bats (Eidolon helvum)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

