Week 37: TRANSFERS

I’d like to take this opportunity to wish you all a happy March 10th!
Today, is, Transfers. For real its like Christmas for missionaries. Missionaries stay up all night because they are excited and nervous, all the missionaries call all the other missionaries to try and find out if anyone knows any updates or rumors or anything. Its pretty funny! Me and Elder Vestia were pretty sure that nothing was going to change here in Quelimane, just because he hasnt been here that long, and yeah. But lo and behold, we see transfers, and BOOM.
I’m getting transfered! Leaving Quelimane and headed for MAPUTO!
I’ll be serving in the biggest city in Mozambique, as a Mission Secretary! Or, in other words, as they are so “lovingly” known by all the missionaries, Office Elder. 🙂 I will be working in the Mission Office with the AP’s and President Kretly! My companion will be literally my best friend in the mission, Elder Douglas! We were in the same mtc district, and I like him a lot. I am super excited! I will be one of the 4 missionaries in the mission that drive, and I will have to learn how to drive stick shift! On the other side of the road! I don’t know a whole lot about what an Office Elder does, but I know that I will be dealing with finances and the Mission budget and working alot with South Africa and working really closely with the President. I couldn’t be more excited. It is really… unexpected, But I am SO stoked.
I am a little bummed to be leaving Quelimane. I LOVE it here. I love it so much. But I am excited for the new adventure that awaits in Maputo.
This week was a little lame, we had to stay in our house for most of the week because they tore apart THE ENTIRE ROOF. We aren’t allowed to leave the house with workers here inside, so we had to stay Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday in our house! And because our kitchen was destroyed, we went out to eat. A lot. 🙂
Sorry, as I’m sure you have already noticed, the email after transfers is always a little lame. Its just hard to really stay focused. 🙂
Image
We had a baptism this week, a 25  year old named Sergio. It is kind of a funny story with him. We met him with Elder Heaton. We were doing street contacts, and Elder Heaton started to contact this young guy. He said he wasn’t living with a wife. Normally at this point, we just stop the contact, and invite them to church, because we really focus hard on teaching families. But Elder Heaton kept going, took his phone number and marked a lesson with him! Afterwards, I was a little confused. I said, “dude, why did you contact that joven? (or, young guy). Elder Heaton said, “Well, President Kretly said we need to baptize people who will help the church. He works for the federal archives, and he could be usefull to help us with marriage documents!” And I was still a little hesitant. But, we started teaching him, and it went well. And last week, he asked me to baptize him. So I kind of felt dumb! But he is a super super strong convert. He really will help the church here a lot. He is a rich kid, he has a touch screen smart phone. AKA Richy Rich here in Quelimane.
Image
But Yeah. 🙂 I leave on Wednesday. I’ve got a lot of people to say good bye to!
I am so grateful to be a missionary here in Mozambique at this time. It is such a blessing. I am learning so much and I love my life a ton. 🙂 It really is the best two years!
Love, Elder Poyfair
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

