Week 79: Growing through Patience and Sacrifice

2015/01/img_0055.png

At the first MTC Sunday night devotional I went to, just days after being dropped off, the speaker shared the story of when David O Mckay was on his mission, and saw this stone shown here above.

The message really touched Elder McKay, and the speaker at the devotional explained how each of those nine squares has a symbol on it, and each symbol represents a number. For example, the hand has 5 fingers, the “x” is 10, the triangle is “3”, and each of the other shapes represents the number of how many sides it has. The reason these symbols are attached to the quote, is because the three symbols will always add up to 18. If you add up the top row from left to right, its 18. If you go diagonally from the bottom left square, it is still 18! It will always add up to 18.

2015/01/img_0056.png

The speaker shared how we all play our part in making the Church, or specifically, our mission, run smoothly and add up to 18. Each of us is a number. And sometimes, we might think, “No! I don’t want to be a 3!! I want to be a 7!!” But if you were a 7 instead of a 3, than that row wouldn’t add up to 18 and it would throw the whole picture off.

When I heard that talk then, I had no idea how important it would end up being to me now, a year and a half later.

This week, we found out that with the transfers, Elder Lourenco would be leaving the office and going up to Tete, and that I would stay here in the office with Elder Reinstein, for my 8th transfer. That will be 1 full year of my mission spent as Financial Secretary, here in the office, in the same area and the same branch and the same house and same bed and same everything. πŸ™‚

I was a little disappointed at first, I was really excited to be able to leave the office and work as a normal missionary, especially since President Kretly had told me last transfer that it would be my last in the office.

BUT. Its all good. I got over it. πŸ™‚ I realized that I am not here on a mission to do what I want to do. Even if I really really really want to go to a normal area and be able to work all day and really help the families, if that’s not what the Lord has in mind or what the mission needs, its ok because I am here to SERVE. πŸ™‚ My mission is a sacrifice, and the more that I sacrifice, and the more of myself I give to this mission, the more worthwhile it will be in the end.

So I am here for another one. πŸ™‚

This transfer is going to be really good as well, as we finish training the Kimball senior couple on how to do everything. We will slowly be spending less time in the office and more time in the area. That is what we did this week. We worked really hard in our proselyting area and were blessed with some awesome results.

This week at church, we had 5 complete families at church! It really was a miracle. We started teaching this family, and the husband is named Thomas and he has Dredlocks! He is so cool. Definitely one of my favorite families I have taught. He is a musician and the are very humble, and they came to church on Sunday! They are funny people.

2015/01/img_0054.jpg

We had a baptism this week! Her name is Carolina. She is a 23 year old single mom. Her daughter is really cute! She was born in Swaziland, and has been living with her aunt for a couple of years, and coming to church for a while. She was one of the most prepared, easiest investigators that I have taught! She accepted everything and kept all of the commitments. She had a strong desire to be baptized, and our branch president is already talking about a calling for her.

2015/01/img_0051.jpg

The work is going really good here! I love this branch and the members and I am really excited to be able to spend another couple of weeks here, and be able to work more in the area. The area definitely needs it. There are a lot of prepared families out there!

Sorry this letter is short. You know how it goes, on transfer day. People to be picked up and dropped off at the airport, running around like crazy until 2 in the morning. It makes for a short Pday, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. πŸ™‚

Love,

Elder Poyfair

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

