Week 84: Transferred, Training, Whitewashing

Hi. πŸ™‚

This week was one of the best. First of all, transfers were on Wednesday. And finally, after 8 transfers (one full year) as Financial Secretary of the Mozambique Maputo Mission, I got transferred. TRANSFERRED!!!! I am now assigned to the Sommerschield Branch (well, technically Sommerschield Ward now, but that comes later). Sommerscheild is on the other side of the city! Still in Maputo! Its like serving in Lehi for 1 year and then getting transferred to American Fork. πŸ™‚ Haha but its ok. Its a completely different area, it is the richest and nicest branch in Mozambique! Its where all of the embassies are located and all of the rich people live. There are five or six american families who live there as well. Plus, I’m training Elder Huffaker, one of the 2 new missionaries who came into Mozambique last week, straight from the MTC! We are white washing, which means two missionaries who are new to an area, where neither one knows anything about the area. And, I’m one of the two Zone Leaders of the Maputo Zone!

DSC03746

My two new companions. Elder Huffaker, the new one, is on the right, and Elder Souza on the left!

In about 2 hours my life had completely changed. I said goodbye to Elder Reinstein (who I really loved) and packed up all of my stuff, loaded it into our car, and took Elder Huffaker with me to our new house. We spent a good amount of time getting unpacked and cleaning up the house, because no one had lived in it for months. We found out that there were some changes in the transfers, and that Elder Souza, a brazillian who has been out for about 9 months would be serving with us in a tripanionship. Both of them are awesome missionaries!

Elder Huffaker is so cool. He is from Michigan, played college football, than transferred to BYU Idaho and is older than I am! He is such a good missionary. Very obedient, learns fast and likes to work hard. He is seriously the perfect train-ee. I am so excited! I have never trained a new missionary before, and I am really looking forward to helping him become the best missionary he can be. Elder Souza is great as well, really humble and nice.

There are two other Elders living in our house as well, Elder Christianson from Provo and Elder Mapenda, who is Mozambican. They are white washing too! Us five Elders, completely starting from scratch. I’m so excited for it!

I’m not going to lie, my body was pretty rusty after sitting in a chair for the majority of the day for one year. Working as a full time missionary again has been SO TIRING! I seriously hit my bed every night so so so tired and wake up so fast the next day. We have a couple of families in our area that the Sisters were teaching before. One of them is getting baptized on February 28th!

President Kretly called me, and said that I would be able to use the mission car! He told me to park it at the Sommerschield chapel and that we can use it for Mission Purposes. He wants me to go into the office once a week and make sure that everything is still going well with the Kimballs. So that is pretty sweet! Me and the APs are the only Elders who have cars.

So yeah. That happened. The real news of the week though, was that yesterday, the first stake in Mozambique was created! IN MAPUTO! The city I’ve been serving in for so long. I’ve lived here longer than any missionary here except for President and Sister Kretly. This is MY city. πŸ™‚ And it got a stake!

DSC03738

Me and my whole MTC District, the elders who went to the MTC together and will go home together.

Elder Stanley Ellis of the First Quorum of the Seventy presided and created it. There were SOOOO many people there, they had rented a giant outdoor tent and put hundreds of chairs underneith it in the parking lot, and they broadcasted the meeting to that tv and various others in the releif society room and stuff. President Kretly assigned me as the official photographer! He gave me his personal camera to use, and asked me to take a bagillion pictures of everything. I enjoyed that! He has a nice camera. πŸ™‚ If you see the church news article and there are any pictures, chances are I took them.

It was such a powerful meeting! The talks were wonderful, and the spirit was strong. Plus, one of my recent converts was called as the Second Counselor in the Stake Presidency!!!

I KNOW CRAZY RIGHT?!

Seriously. Justino is the 2nd counselor in Stake Presidency of the first stake in Mozambique. Me and Elder Douglas baptized him last may. In June he was made branch president. Now, 2nd counselor. IN THE STAKE PRESIDENCY.

Elder Douglas was there at the meeting, because President Kretly had decided to bring down all of the Elders in the whole mission, ALL of them, and bring them to be able to watch the first stake. I was sitting next to Elder Douglas when they announced the Stake Presidency, and we had one of the most epic fist bumps of my life.

IT FELT SO GOOD TO WATCH HIM BEAR HIS TESTIMONY IN FRONT OF EVERYONE AND THE SPIRIT WAS STRONG AND IT WAS THE BEST MEETING EVER!

As you can imagine, bringing the entire mission down to Maputo was no easy task, and even though I was technically transferred out of the office, it took a lot of effort to make it happen. For example, this morning I was up at 2:45 AM taking Elders to the chapel where the bus was picking them up at 3:30 AM back to Beira and didn’t end up getting back home until 5:30. Slept for an hour, and than back up to clean the house. So I’m pretty tired. πŸ™‚ Luckily, I’ll be able to take a nap before we go out.

Seriously though, this week was one of my favorites of all time. I wish I could write everything thats happening and everything I’m feeling. First off, its not possible. Second off, I don’t have unlimited internet time like when I was in the office. πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. But seriously, my mission has been the greatest thing ever. This week was amazing! I don’t ever want it to end.

Mozambique is the Promised Land!

Much love,

Elder Poyfair

(The pictures are me and my whole MTC District, the elders who went to the MTC together and will go home together, and me and my two new companions. Elder Huffaker, the new one, is one the right, and Elder Souza on the left!)

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Week 84: Transferred, Training, Whitewashing

  1. John and Donna Wollenzien

    Yes! So Happy about the Stake! We also think Mozambique is the best mission ever ! GoodWork!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

