Week 99: Final letter from Mozambique. WHAT?!?!

(Elder Poyfair will land at the SLC airport next Tuesday morning, June 16th. He will then speak at our ward (Lehi 30th) on June 21st at 1 p.m. The building’s address is 3180 North 300 West, LEHI, UTAH 84043. Right after he finishes speaking we will have refreshments at our house – which is less than a block from the church building – 3030 N. 250 West, Lehi, Utah 84043. If you have been following this blog we would love to see you there!)

This is it! Last P-day. Last email to family and friends. Last attempt at describing in two hours per week on a computer what my life is like here, halfway across the world.

I like this picture. The cars never make sense, the english written on them is really bad but I thought this one was funny.

I like this picture. The cars never make sense, the english written on them is really bad but I thought this one was funny.

This mission has been the coolest experience of my whole entire life! I will be eternally grateful for the things I learned and the people I met during these two years in Mozambique.

DSC08459

This is a little place the missionaries call “southern utah” we did contacts there the other morning and couldn’t resist taking a pic! It was like being in lake Powell and Moz all at the same time!

This week was actually pretty interesting! I had a division on Tuesday in Magoanine with Elder Johnson, did some baptismal interviews and had a great time with Elder Johnson. When we came home, me and Elder Christiansen got a call from the Assistents, saying that there was going to be an emergency transfer and we would be receiving two additional missionaries in our house! I would serve (for the last week or so) with Elder Woolley, from Bountiful and Elder Christiansen with Elder Rego from Portugal. So that was strange!

Me and Elder Christiansen.

Me and Elder Christiansen.

That night we ate dinner with the Reed family. They are american and work at the embassy. They fed us roast beef, and we shared a message in english. I felt SO out of my comfort zone. 🙂

Here is Elder Woolley.

Here is Elder Woolley.

But yeah. This week we worked hard and were able to find many new families. Antonio and Paula will be baptized two weeks after I leave, and Souza and Yuki will be shortly after that!
DSC03968

I bore my testimony at church. When I said that it was my last week, a few member’s jaws literally dropped. It was so funny. No one thought I was leaving. A BUNCH of people came up, inviting us to dinner and asking for pictures and stuff. It was awesome.

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

I had adquired a pretty nice tie collection, of like 40 ties. I stood outside the door before church, giving all the people who came in without a tie a tie to keep. Any future missionaries who work in this ward will be impressed with the members’ taste in ties! I am going to miss all these people so much.

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

This next week will be insane. On thursday, I got permission from President Kretly to go all around Maputo and visit the families I baptized here, in Chamanculo and T3 and Catembe. Friday is ZONE CONFERENCE and friday night, we go to President Kretly’s house. HUGE sleepover for friday,saturday, sunday with the 16 missionaries who go home with my group. No one really knows what goes on during the time you are with President Kretly at the end (I mean, technically I do, I saw the receipts but I kind of pretend like I don’t to be surprised) but “rumor” has it, you go on a safari and eat nice dinner and have interviews and stuff. I can’t even beleive how fast it has all gone!

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

The mission has definitely changed my life. I’ve been so blessed to have had this experience! There aren’t words I could use to describe everything that has happened in the past two years. All I can say, is that it has been worth every second and every sacrifice!

DSC03945

Saying goodbye to some of my all time favorite people.

I know the Church is true. I can say that right now with more feeling and surety and confidence than ever before. The Gospel of Jesus Christ changes people and makes them better and happier. My time here is sacred to me, and I am so grateful for it.

I am excited to see all of you again!

Have a good week. See you soon.

-Elder Poyfair
Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Week 99: Final letter from Mozambique. WHAT?!?!

  1. Casal Osborn

    Fez bem irmão.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

